*NOW BOOKED FOR 2024* Transitmania 15 @ Santa Pod 19th to 21st July 2024 *ALL DETAILS HERE*

Difficulty selecting reverse

Use this section to post all specific Transit Connect topics and questions

Difficulty selecting reverse

Postby Boghopper » Sun May 07, 2023 10:10 pm

Got in my van 1.8 TDCi this morning; it sits on a slight incline overnight. Put it in reverse and rolled backward out into the track, had to reverse back a bit and it wouldn't go into reverse, just like that! What could have happened overnight, as it was perfect the day before? All other gears are fine, makes no difference whether the engine is running or stopped. It will go into reverse but takes a few tries. Gearbox or clutch, never ending all this, I'm quite shocked to be quite frank.
Boghopper
Transit Aficionado
Transit Aficionado

Re: Difficulty selecting reverse

Postby metalworker0 » Sun May 07, 2023 11:16 pm

I have no experience of this job ....

First you need to take the gator off the gearshift lever and have a look if everything looks normal under there ..no parts broken, cracked bushings worn out bushings ..displaced parts ..
You'll only see some of it

https://ford.7zap.com/en/transport/121/ ... 224/84406/

IF you Cant find anything wrong ..then look at the cables....underneath ..you are going to be looking at the ends of the cables ..there are bushings in them ..you are looking for wear, slop and ovality ..

https://ford.7zap.com/en/transport/121/ ... 224/84407/

still no luck ......search term is "MTX75 reverse gear" on google and youtube

You'll find ford focus has a lot of results with this problem,.........this i think is an identical set up.

all the best.mark
metalworker0
Transit Fanatic
Transit Fanatic

Postby Boghopper » Sun May 21, 2023 7:09 pm